When A Crocodile Eats the Sun

When A Crocodile Eats the Sun

A Memoir of Africa

Paperback - 2008
Average Rating:
2
Rate this:
Hailed by reviewers as "powerful," "haunting" and "a tour de force of personal journalism," When A Crocodile Eats the Sun is the unforgettable story of one man's struggle to discover his past and come to terms with his present. Award winning author and journalist Peter Godwin writes with pathos and intimacy about Zimbabwe's spiral into chaos and, along with it, his family's steady collapse. This dramatic memoir is a searing portrait of unspeakable tragedy and exile, but it is also vivid proof of the profound strength of the human spirit and the enduring power of love.

"In the tradition of Rian Malan and Philip Gourevitch, a deeply moving book about the unknowability of an Africa at once thrilling and grotesque. In elegant, elegiac prose, Godwin describes his father's illness and death in Zimbabwe against the backdrop of Mugabe's descent into tyranny. His parent's waning and the country's deterioration are entwined so that personal and political tragedy become inseparable, each more profound for the presence of the other" -- Andrew Solomon, author of The Noonday Demon

"A fascinating, heartbreaking, deeply illuminating memoir that has the shape and feel of a superb novel." -Kurt Anderson, author of Heydey
Publisher: New York : Back Bay Books/Little, Brown, 2008, c2006.
Edition: First Back Bay pbk edition
ISBN: 9780316018715
0316018716
Characteristics: 341 pages, [8] pages of plates :,map, portraits ;,21 cm.

Opinion

From the critics


Community Activity

Comment

Add a Comment

WVMLStaffPicks Feb 01, 2015

This is both a personal and a political story of life in Zimbabwe from the 1950s through to the present day. When Godwin, a New York journalist, goes to Zimbabwe to visit his parents, he learns about his family’s history, including a secret that changes his perspective on life. A fascinating read about people living in a turbulent time.

WVMLBookClubTitles Jun 22, 2013

Peter Godwin’s memoir describes dark times and dark aspects of human behaviour spanning two continents and half a century. It is a portrayal of a son’s effort to rescue his family, and a family’s struggle to belong in a hostile land.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.

Summary

Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.

Notices

Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.

Quotes

Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number

Recommendations

Subject Headings

  Loading...

Find it at my library

  Loading...
[]
[]
To Top